What do Ice Buckets, Hobby Lobby and Snowflakes have in common?

Barbie and I have some dear friends who have adopted a snowflake.  What is a snowflake you ask?  Let me set the stage a little better before answering that question.  Let me first say that I am all for a cure for ALS, cancer, Ebola and any other painfully destructive disease (to include those not so painful).  I have thoroughly enjoyed the various “ice bucket challenges”.  I think my favorite to date is the one Shannon Ronit posted from Tanzania where the guy gave his donation and poured an empty bucket over his head as it had been years since he had seen an ice cube over there.  It is a wonderful cause and they have been successful in raising over 22 million to date from what I have read.

snowflake

My personal decision is not to donate or dump ice and my reason is very personal.  This money is for research and a portion of ALS research involves embryonic stem cells.  I know there is much ongoing debate out there on this subject to include the growing opinion that adult stem cells are just as effective as embryonic ones for research purposes.  But because of my personal view I cannot participate.

I’m sure some might argue that “it’s only about 20% of the money that goes for that type of research” so what’s the big deal?  Well, it seems most Christians were very much in support of Hobby Lobby when they refused to provide those 4 out of 20 (20%) drugs that kill the already formed embryo.  They were glad to provide the 16 contraceptives.  Contraceptive means (from the Latin) against + conception and the four drugs that Hobby Lobby (and most Christians) opposed were ones which actually killed or prevented the already conceived embryo from surviving.

There is no easy or pat answer here but I just wanted to put it out there that we, as Christians, need to be consistent and this subject of embryos destroyed for testing or destroyed by means of the morning after pill need to be wrestled out and perhaps snowflakes can help.

Snowflakes are extra embryos which are put up for adoption by the couple who had them frozen in their own attempts at conception.  Our dear friends adopted snowflakes and had twins implanted this past April.  One survived and they are expecting a healthy baby girl early next year.

I certainly don’t have all the answers, but I did think it was worth writing this blog to at least put this very challenging subject out there for thought, discussion and debate.  May the Lord Himself reveal His heart to us.

2 thoughts on “What do Ice Buckets, Hobby Lobby and Snowflakes have in common?

  1. Shannon Ronit says:

    That is a challenging thought and perspective. Thanks for writing this. I appreciated it.

  2. Norma Latta says:

    I am in total agreement with this article. I hope people take the time to read it and know the truth….

Leave a Reply

