Love Wins – What does that even mean?

“Love wins” is trending today from the church, the media and social hoopla surrounding the recent marriage ruling by SCOTUS to the much loved book of that same title by Rob Bell dismissing any eternal hell type punishment to include a significant nod to universalism.

I also strongly believe that in fact Love will win, but Love with a capital L instead of a small l.  Let’s be crystal clear, love with a small l is what is trending today.  Small l love means I can do what I want, marry who or what I want, have sex when and where I want, make the choice I want (instead of for my unborn baby), pursue who or what I want, take what I want, change who I am or who I want to be, buy a cake where I want, get married where I want and of course sue or label as haters anybody who won’t let me do or be any of the things I want listed above.

Did anybody notice the one constant in all the small l things above?  For those with little power of observation “I” will give you a hint.  Get it now?  No coincidence here that a small l and I look the same.

“Humanism – an outlook or system of thought attaching prime importance to human rather than divine or supernatural matters”

It’s all about I, me and mine.  This is the dividing line and this is the distinction between the type of love dominating and trending today and God’s heart of Love.  My personal goal and pursuit in life is to embrace capital L Love (a little patience with me please) as exampled by Jesus who gave, served and sacrificed so that others could live, love and be liberated from the I monster.  And just so there is no misunderstanding, “I” is a monster that has destroyed societies across the globe who have bought into the self serving humanistic philosophy.  Really, almost every single society (if not everyone) which has abandoned a traditional Noahide moral code has eventually ended up tearing itself apart.

So as our society enacts new laws (actually abandoning old ones) they are, sadly, writing their own epitaph of death and destruction.  And it will go for true Christians today as it has in the past where we will be, as Jesus and the Bible promised, hated and persecuted.  I don’t have a lot more to say than get ready.  Be prepared with the Gospel for those who will hear and pray for the power and leading of the Spirit in these terrible times.  Love, God’s love, will win for those whose capital I is crucified with Christ and their little “i” is subjected to a life lived by the grace of the Son of God, who loved us and gave Himself up for us.

Leave a Reply

